Distinguished Service Medal 1914 (DSM) – Foxhole Medals
Cart 0

Distinguished Service Medal 1914 (DSM)

  • $65.00

Instituted in 1914 by King George V but was discontinued in 1993. Originally intended for Chief Petty Officers and other ranks in the Navy who 'set an example of bravery and resource under fire without performing acts of such pre-eminent bravery as would render them eligible for the Conspicuous Gallantry Medal'. Extended in World War II to non-commissioned officers and men in the Army and Air Force serving afloat. Recipients are entitled to use the post-nominal DSM after their names. The ribbon is dark blue with two medium width white stripes at the centre. The DSM has been awarded to 179 Australians and two first Bars were awarded. All recipients were based in the Navy.

We Also Recommend
[powr-popup id=afd230c8_1484536118]